:Spiders:Bikes:Liberty:

I hate spiders. 

While I was browsing through my online shopping deal e-mails this morning, there was an item on a certain site. The item was a basket you would put on the front of the handles on your bicycle. They were rather cute, but then I began to realize two things (which I held on to all day, obviously):

1. Spiders, probably both alive and dead, were collected in the cobwebs on my childhood bicycle.

2. I don’t know how to ride a bike. Sadly, that childhood bicycle was hardly ever, if ever, put to use.

I’m really not that scared to admit it. I was the weepy little girl who got so frustrated and upset that my parents didn’t want to put me through it anymore. But I am now the one who wants to learn. I feel a bit like Phoebe in that episode of Friends. I surely hope that I do not end up  just walking my bike. Although that would be the simplest.

Although bikes and I have never had a steady relationship, I did always imagine myself riding a mint green Vespa. Kind of like Mandy Moore and that really hot guy in that 200-something movie Chasing Liberty. Of course, they were riding through Prague. I am romanticizing it, I know, but that is what makes this whole learning experience interesting. Maybe if I learn how to ride a bike AND a Vespa, I will eventually travel to picturesque destinations and experience them in a way I never thought possible.

I often cringe when people use that old phrase “it’s like riding a bike”, mostly because it implies that it is hard only for me because I can’t ride a bike. But THEN it makes me think of all of the things I can do well and probably better than millions of people that can ride a bike, and all is right with the world.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

