:The Art of Missing:

“Love is missing someone whenever you’re apart, but somehow feeling warm inside because you’re close in heart.”  ~Kay Knudsen

Image

For the past nine or so years (okay. wow.), I have grown accustomed to missing. My family, my friends, a certain boy, my pets, my hometown, my childhood. 

Whether I am thinking about a certain moment with my dog crawling on my dad, a certain moment shopping with my mom, a certain moment laughing with the friends that are closest to me, I miss everything as soon as it slips out my front door or as soon as I put my size 9 gladiator sandal on the gas pedal (hopefully with no forthcoming speeding tickets) and drive away.

I have realized, though, that this missing thing isn’t that bad. Everything I miss comes back in one way or another.  Everything I miss is good. And that is how it should be. Miss the good, let bygones be gone. 

Leave a Reply

