:Like A Rhinestone Shoe Horn:

6ee75a178e4ef678979d5fd27b8c104f7d3cc4c0

Long gone are the days when my Cinderella perfect feet just “slip” into those high heels like it ain’t no big thang.

I should remind you that my entire left side (brain excluded) is a little off. I have never been able to dribble with my left hand or kick with my left foot. Trying to get me to write my own name with my left hand is an impossible task. In high school, I had to really try to keep the bottom of my left leg from swinging slightly out to the side while running cross country. On top of that, my feet were pretty effed up from ballet. I like to think they are “fine” now, but alas…

I received (sigh) a pair of nude Mary Jane high heels in the mail today, which I immediately tried on. Keyword: tried. I mean really, truly, madly and deeply tried to get that damn left shoe on. My left foot appeared as if it were trying to bend in a direction so as not to fit correctly, or even straight for that matter, in the shoe. It was like it had a mind of its own, as it often does.

For 15 minutes, I huffed and puffed while my music seemed to be getting louder and louder (even though I wasn’t turning it up), and then I saw something.

I almost threw this something out during my move, but for some reason, it stayed with me. Maybe for this exact moment.

Thank you, rhinestone shoe horn. My legs and feet will continue to say “pain for beauty” for years and years to come.

For those of you who would like to know more about the common shoe horn (also called shoespooning) , here you go.

qlette Contributor

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “:Like A Rhinestone Shoe Horn:

  1. game May 10, 2013 at 11:22 AM Reply

    Saved as a favorite, I really like your web site!

Leave a Reply

